Cisco VPN Client Error 2738 on Windows Vista

Posted: March 31, 2008 in 2738, cisco, error, vista, vpn client

Error 2738 on Windows Vista:
If you receive an error “Internal Error 2738″ when trying to install the Cisco VPN Client on Vista, try these directions to potentially resolve the issue:

  1. Run a command prompt in administrator mode (Start/All Programs/Accessories/ right click on Command Prompt, select Run As Administrator)
  2. type: cd %systemroot%\system32
  3. type: regsvr32 vbscript.dll
Comments
  1. Jay says:

    Worked, thanks.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great, it works !Thx

  3. Anonymous says:

    Woohoo! it worked. Thank you!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Perfekt … hat funktioniert !!! Danke!

  5. Gurjeet says:

    Great tip…!!! The install worked like a charm after this command.Note: I didn’t have to ‘Run As Administrator’ since I was running with UAC already disabled.Thanks.

  6. atoultaro says:

    Thanks a lot. You made my day.

  7. Hvymetal86 says:

    This worked for me on a client’s computer. Thank you for the help!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Perfect! Thanks. Its so stupid that Cisco would not fix things like this.

  9. Anonymous says:

    I got the error when uninstalling. The fix works fine for that, too. Thanks!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Perfect! Thanks for the post and helping others.

  11. Anonymous says:

    it works! thanks!!

  12. Sergey says:

    I thought I would have to spend days&nights cleaning my pc – VPN client didnt want to uninstall. Thanx a lot!

  13. Anonymous says:

    Thanks! This worked fine! … Too bad that I spent over 2 hours looking for the solution!

  14. Chetan says:

    cheers This Worked, thanks a lot!!

  15. Anonymous says:

    Wow, it actually worked! No idea what the code actually does but at least I won’t fail my uni course now.

  16. alex smith says:

    vpn service is very useful, it allowes me to connect just about any web site, the connection speed is very fast.

  17. Isaac says:

    Thank you for sharing. I tried to install the client before about two months ago, and got a different error. Found out that the version I was installing was not supported on Vista. Finally, I have version 5.0.xxxx. When I saw the 2738 error, I was like. . . AAAAHHHHH! NOOOOOO! I google-ed it, and your post here was right at the top. Thanks for your help.

  18. gabbitas says:

    Thanks for tip! Worked like a charm.

  19. Anonymous says:

    Perfect! Thanks!!!

  20. yurasuka says:

    Awesome to see that this fix helped so many people!

  21. vpothuri says:

    Lovely … Long live… donors like u…Worked like a charm… I do not know much… but I switched off Antivirus to uninstall and then it worked for me… anyways… depends on what crappy anti virus we have on our systems….

  22. Anonymous says:

    Thank you very much!

  23. Anonymous says:

    YEEESS!!!! It worked!! Thank you :)

  24. djordje says:

    It works now like a charm… Thank You very much

  25. Rand says:

    Thank you very much it worked!!!

  26. molli says:

    on windows 7 it didnt work, whats different ?

  27. joel garay says:

    Hey ! man!! t Felicito!!! M Sirvio! bastanT!

  28. Xeptor says:

    thanks for Article, good job.

  29. Ben says:

    You rock! Thanks a lot :-)

  30. shantan says:

    super it works just gr8….thanks a lot man

  31. Mary says:

    I installed Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) so that all of my systems can reach the Internet. Now my VPN client no longer works.What should I do now? vpn

  32. Mary says:

    I installed Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) so that all of my systems can reach the Internet. Now my VPN client no longer works.What should I do now? vpn

  33. yurasuka says:

    Hi MaryUnfortunately I don't have an answer for you.I'd seriously suggest NOT using ICS. Rather use a router to do the internet connection.Does it work when you reverse the changes you made to get ICS working?

Leave a Reply

